Class of 2012


Katherine Matthews

Matthews was a recipient of the Dean’s List (Fall 2010, Spring 2011, Fall 2011) and Cum lade for Senior Honors thesis: The Long Shadow of Injustice. She was a member of Alpha Kappa Delta International Honor Society for Sociology, Black Star Magazine, Black Student Alliance, and Student Government Association. 

Jacinta R. Saffold

Saffold was a recipient of The Delores P. Aldridge Excellence Award for Leadership and Service and a Mellon Mays University Fellowship fellow. She was a member of the Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. and the Berkley Forum Debate Team.

Miatta Williams

Williams was a recipient of the Boozer-Noether Social Ethics and Community Service Scholarship Award. Williams also was a member of Volunteer Emory, Emory Autism Center Volunteer, Black Student Alliance. She completed her senior internship with Leading Ladies of Legacy, Inc.


Courtney Bell

Bell was a member of Hughes Undergraduates Excelling in Science (HUES) and the Ethics & Servant Leadership Forum.

Beatrice Denise King

King was a recipient of Who’s Who Among American Colleges and Universities (Spring 2009), Resident Assistant of the Year at Oxford College of Emory University (Spring 2009) and the Merit List (Spring 2008 & 2009). She was a member of Voices of Praise Gospel Choir at Oxford College of Emory University, Voices of Inner Strength Gospel Choir at Emory University, Volunteer Registrar at Willing Helpers Medical Clinic in Covington, GA Spring 2008-2009, Habitat for Humanity, and the Reformed University Fellowship (RUF) Ministry Team.

Brianna Nicole (Nicky) Mack 

Mack was a recipient of Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges, a Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship, Honorable Mentions from the National Science Foundation and Ford Foundation Predoctoral Fellowships. She was a member of 2012 cohort of American Political Science Minority Fellowship, Black Star Magazine, and Co-founder of Emory Quest Scholars.